Wednesday, February 15, 2012

New word

I like learning new words.

Today I learned a doozy.  Synecdoche.  Yeah, it even looks cool, but it sounds even cooler, (sin-ek-do-key).

So it means using a part, adjective or aspect of an object, person or thing and using that to describe them.  Like calling my dad "chief no-hair" because he's bald, or referring to someone who always wears read shirts as "red-shirt guy".  Each of these takes one aspect of an individual and uses it to represent the whole rather than using proper pronouns or names.

I do this all the time, and how cool is it to have such an awesome word for such a novel way to describe a person?

Just thought I'd throw that out there.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Wife and Baby back home!

So this past week has been sad, lonely, and boring lol.  Ivy and Aleigha were down in St George, and I learned first hand just how much I take their company for granted.  Starting Thursday night, when they left, I began to notice just how much spare time I was going to have on my hands over the next week when I got home and my homework, that I usually spread out over the whole evening, only took me 20 min!  My first thought was, "wow, having a baby sure takes a lot of time!  I can see what people are thinking when they decide to wait."  I was quickly reminded, however, of why I have no regrets that Ivy and I had Aleigha as quickly as we did.  I then spent the next half-hour visiting the websites and news feeds that I usually waste time on when Aleigha's finally in bed and Ivy and I are just chillin on the couch.  I then realized that I had just accomplished all of the personal activities that I do in a day, and had no idea what to do with myself without a wife and baby to talk to and play with.  The thing that really hit me though was the fact that I didn't have any problem with that (the fact that I didn't have things that I "wanted to do but couldn't because I'm married or because I have a baby" I mean).  I mean I could think of things to do, but everything that I could think of came with the caviat that I'd rather do it with them than alone.

I went to the basketball game with Landon that night and had a really good time, and I think it really was good to just hang out, but even there, I couldn't help but think how fun it would be to have Ivy there too, or wonder how Aleigha would react to the game, and even more interestingly, the crowd.

The rest of the week continued with similar experiences, where time seemed completely distorted, and I realized that there were things I'd want to discuss with Ivy or show to Aleigha, and couldn't because they weren't there.

Although I enjoyed the time I spent with my family, and had fun with Landon, and did get some time to do a little covert shopping for Ivy's Valentine's present without feeling like I was abandoning her, I learned quickly just how much those two girls fill my life and make it more full and enjoyable.

I love you Ivy Jo and Aleigha Nicole!  With all my heart!

Trev (Daddy)