I like learning new words.
Today I learned a doozy. Synecdoche. Yeah, it even looks cool, but it sounds even cooler, (sin-ek-do-key).
So it means using a part, adjective or aspect of an object, person or thing and using that to describe them. Like calling my dad "chief no-hair" because he's bald, or referring to someone who always wears read shirts as "red-shirt guy". Each of these takes one aspect of an individual and uses it to represent the whole rather than using proper pronouns or names.
I do this all the time, and how cool is it to have such an awesome word for such a novel way to describe a person?
Just thought I'd throw that out there.
No comments:
Post a Comment